OKLAHOMA TAX COMMISSIO

REVENUE IMPACT STATEMENT AND/OR ADMINISTRATIVE IMPACT STATEMENT
SECOND REGULAR SESSION, FIFTY-EIGHTH OKLAHOMA LEGISLATURE

DATE OF IMPACT STATEMENT: February 5, 2022

BILL NUMBER: SB 1487 STATUS AND DATE OF BILL: Introduced 01/20/2022

AUTHORS: House n/a Senate _Montgomery
TAX TYPE (S): Motor Vehicle Sales Tax SUBJECT: Other

PROPOSAL: Amendatory 68 O.S. §§ 1354 & 1355

The measure proposes amendment to Section 1355 of Title 68 of the Oklahoma Statutes to allow the
state sales tax of 1.25% that is levied against the gross receipts associated with transfer of motor
vehicles to be paid in no more than two (2) installment with the first installment! paid at the time of
initial registration and second installment to be made during the first period for registration renewal
pursuant to the Oklahoma Vehicle License and Registration Act.

EFFECTIVE DATE: November 1, 2022

REVENUE IMPACT:

Insert dollar amount (plus or minus) of the expected change in state revenues due to this
proposed legislation.

FY 23: Unknown decrease of motor vehicle sales tax revenues
FY 24: Unknown decrease of motor vehicle sales tax revenues

ADMINISTRATIVE IMPACT:
Insert the estimated cost or savings to the Tax Commission due to this proposed legislation.

FY 23: $93,750 in additional OTC administrative costs
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The revenue impact provided herein is an estimate of the potential impact on the collection or
apportionment of tax revenues affected by the proposed legislation. It is not intended to be an
estimate of the overall fiscal impact on the state budget if the proposed legislation is enacted.

! The first payment being a quarter, one half, or the full amount of the tax,



ATTACHMENT TO REVENUE IMPACT - SB 1487 [Introduced] Prepared 02/05/2022

The measure proposes amendment to Section 1355 of Title 68 of the Oklahoma Statutes to allow the
state sales tax of 1.25% that is levied against the gross receipts associated with transfer of motor
vehicles to be paid in no more than two (2) installment with the first installment? paid at the time of
initial registration and second installment to be made during the first period for registration renewal
pursuant to the Oklahoma Vehicle License and Registration Act.

The state motor vehicle sales tax rate of 1.25% is levied upon the gross receipts associated with the
retail sale of motor vehicles. Based upon Oklahoma Tax Commission vehicle licensing and
registration information, the average amount of sales tax remitted for motor vehicles (both new and
used cars) in FY 21 was $211.65 per vehicle. Since this measure would allow a taxpayer to remit a
quarter to one half of the state sales tax upon the initial registration of the vehicle and remit the
remaining tax due the following year upon renewal, it is estimated that an unknown decrease of state

sales tax revenues will result for FY 23 along with an unknown decrease in state sales tax revenues
for FY 24.

Administrative costs:

OTC administration costs related to the initiation and maintenance of a payment plan component
within the current motor vehicle system in addition to establishing mechanism in which to track
outstanding amounts and payments will require two to three months of development time at an
estimated amount of $93,750.

2 The first payment being a quarter, one half, or the full amount of the tax.



